Get all of the information on the 5 languages of love here!

Do you know what the 5 languages of love are?  Many people have read the famous book by Gary Chapman, but there are still new people discovering it all the time.  Over five million copies of the popular book have been sold, as it is consistently a New York Times bestseller. Many couples read the book in premarital counseling, and other couples read it after getting married.  Chapman teaches that understanding your spouse’s love language is one of the keys to a successful marriage.

If you are not familiar with the 5 languages of love, then here they are!

5 Languages of Love

Words of Affirmation

Some people like to receive words of affirmation or praise.  People who want to hear praise need to hear they are great and special.  Actions don’t speak louder than words in their minds.  They are also especially sensitive to criticism, so you need to be careful how you criticize someone who has this love language.

Quality Time

Some people just need to spend time with others!  People who have this love language need your undivided attention.  They expect to have their spouse’s attention regularly.  Quality time does not have to be anything special, but it does need to be dedicated time with your spouse.  You need to be willing to turn off the TV and the computer to spend time with your wife!  Quality time does not mean doing chores together either!  When you spend quality time together, you talk about your day and pay attention to your mate.

Acts of Service

Acts of service is one of the 5 languages of love.  Some people like to be served!  They love it when you clean their car for them, make dinner for them, and do their chores for them.  Think about how your mate expresses their love for you.  If your mate is always serving you and doing things for you, then acts of service is one of their main love languages.  Mates who appear to be lazy and don’t do any work around the house will not be attractive to someone who loves acts of service.

Receiving Gifts

Spouses that like receiving gifts love when they receive random gifts all the time.  It really speaks to their heart when they receive a love note from you.  Women who have the receiving gifts love language want you to show up at home with chocolate or other random food.  You should never forget an anniversary or other special occasion.

Physical Touch

Physical touch is one of the 5 languages of love.  Some people love to be touched.  You can express your love for your mate through holding hands, touching each other on the arm, hugs, and other touchy feely actions!  Mates that want to be touched also expect you to be around to be touched.  It is especially difficult for spouses who like physical touch to be away from their mate for an extended period of time.

These are the 5 languages of love that Gary Chapman speaks about in his book the Five Love Languages.  Most people will fall primarily into one of these five primary languages, and they will have tendencies toward other languages too.